Experiencing Detroit { Pizza Papalis }

Greektown! I love Greektown. Strung lights, lots of brick, Astoria. It doesn’t get much better than that.


{Insert disclaimer here that Pizza Papalis is not exclusive to Detroit, there are a few locations. But the setting here is beautiful and so worth the additional drive.}

The hostess must have sensed I was going to be snapping pictures and put us in the best spot. Having worked in a restaurant for years I’m aware it is not kosher to move yourself once seated, so I always cross my fingers that we end up somewhere good when I’m planning on blogging.


I have said it before, but we are often very plain people when it comes to our food. I have a husband who does not like vegetables (no clue how I will ever convince my children they are a necessity). We ordered the thin crust pepperoni pizza and breadsticks, and honestly, neither was impressive. Given that Chicago-style pizza is their specialty I won’t hold that against them, we are just trying to eat healthier in whatever shape that takes. The breadsticks were awful. I don’t even know how to describe them. I didn’t even bother taking a picture.

I’m still confused on how the restaurant works, we walked in and then were instructed by the downstairs hostess to go to the upstairs hostess to be seated. There were people seated in both places so I’m not sure if it was an every other type of thing. I’m thrilled we were upstairs though. We went on a Friday evening, right after work, and there was barely anyone there as Greektown hits its prime time much later.



We snuck next door to Astoria after, I’ll have to do a separate post there some time, if for no reason other than an excuse to order every delightful thing they sell (pastries are the specialty, don’t try the ice cream).

Detroit is a beautiful city, it has the bones to be a destination, but a lot of work to do to get there.
[I snagged this one through a fence in the parking garage, they seemed to know it was a fantastic view and felt necessary to block it]
Halfway to the weekend!
One thought on “Experiencing Detroit { Pizza Papalis }

Leave a Reply

