The Best is Yet to Come

On my own I’m only half of what I could be,
I can’t do without you.
We are stitched together, and what love has tethered
I pray we never undo.

In some ways I can’t believe it has only been a year, and in others I can’t remember what life was like before. I am the luckiest and most blessed woman in the world to be your wife.

Never could I doubt that we are meant for each other, why else was I so embarrassed when I walked into my first college class, frazzled and 10 minutes late, carrying every single book for every single class because I was a freshman who didn’t know any better, and heard your voice say “Hi Chelsie!”

You are the man of my dreams, the one my parents prayed for before I was born and the one I prayed for my whole life. I am so thankful that we chose to risk our friendship, a friendship that I will forever be thankful for because it is such a backbone to our relationship.

Thank you for your dedication, for how hard you work for us and for our future family. You are going to accomplish amazing things. I am so proud to call you my husband.

Thank you for being my partner in crime. You still make me laugh, I know sometimes you think you don’t, but I’m usually just hiding my smile. I should stop doing that. I am so thankful for a husband who will stop in the middle of a fight and crack jokes to make me smile because there is just nothing worth fighting about.

Thank you for loving God, then loving me. Thank you for leading me.

When I was growing up I always insisted that my wedding song would be something by Frank Sinatra or Michael Buble. When we were engaged I started going through their songs debating between the best one. Then randomly I heard a song, it wasn’t Frank or Michael, but it was the one, it was ours. Still every time I hear it I can’t help but tear up because the words still directly touch my heart. This is not just a relationship between you and I, this is a cord of three strands.

God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
For when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you.

Happy 1st Anniversary my love, here is to so many more. 

2 thoughts on “The Best is Yet to Come

Leave a Reply

