Dancing in the Minefields

“I do” are the two most famous last words
The beginning of the end
But to lose your life for another I’ve heard
Is a good place to begin

Everyone always says that the first year of marriage is the hardest. I was so excited when we hit that 12 month mark.

“If this year was the hardest then we don’t have anything to worry about!”

215871_4030476321315_1216763651_n 3

We have always been so sure of “us.” We were never that couple that broke up/made up/broke up/made up. I knew 3 weeks into dating you that I was going to marry you and I never looked back. We went through a lot in the year we dated. We overcame struggles, secrets. In my mind we went through more than most newlyweds and that gave me confidence for our first year.

Then we were married, and we had new struggles. Struggles again, that most married couples don’t ever experience. And we survived, we flourished. Nights where we found ourselves calling out to God, begging for answers, strengthened us.

534502_4030492001707_28618629_n

This has been quite the second year. We have been blessed beyond belief. But in the process of that we lost us. We got comfortable. Too comfortable. So comfortable that we stopped trying. We stopped communicating.

And that brought pain. It caused hurt.

So when I lose my way, find me
When I loose love’s chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith, till the end of all my days
When I forget my name, remind me

‘Cause we bear the light of the Son of Man
So there’s nothing left to fear
So I’ll walk with you in the shadowlands
Till the shadows disappear

65095_4030492161711_412157520_n

Fireworks are exciting. They come out of nowhere, surprise you with intensity and splendor, and then disappear. Sometimes quickly, other times they slowly fade into the background and before you can realize it there is nothing but the sky. Are we disappointed when it is just the sky? Sometimes. But then we notice the sky. We see the stars in perfect formation, stretching far beyond what we can comprehend. And we discover that the true beauty is not the fireworks. The fireworks are nothing. The true beauty is the sky.

Love isn’t about the fireworks. The fireworks are great!
But that’s not the good stuff.
You get to the good stuff when you choose to see
the beauty beyond the fireworks.

188396_4030492441718_1292272817_n

And we’re dancing in the minefields
We’re sailing in the storm
This is harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for

‘Cause he promised not to leave us
And his promises are true
So in the face of all this chaos, baby,
I can dance with you.

Happy Anniversary Brandon Edward.
You are beyond loved.

Leave a Reply

